In Training!

Molly learning to play fetch!

In obedience class today with our newest rescue, Molly, I was reminded how repetition is the only way to truly train a dog to do new tricks. This process is time consuming and requires complete dedication on behalf of the owner. Molly can be very stubborn, both due to her breed and personality. She picks up quickly on new commands, but requires consistent reminders to continue following through. She would prefer to do things her way, but is a much more focused dog when submitting to structure.

In class, one of the other dog owners mentioned how Molly looks like she has lost weight since they first met her. I’m excited to say that she is down three pounds since we first adopted her. The consistent training and exercise is helping her become a much healthier dog. I felt proud that all our hard work hadn’t gone unnoticed.

Being in class today reminded me of my own need for repetition in my weight loss journey. Just like Molly, I too can be stubborn and need reminders to achieve my goals and become healthier. Charles Givens says, “Achieve success in any area of life by identifying the optimum strategies and repeating them until they become habits.” If I expect to help Molly change for the better, I must also be willing to do the same in my own life. I have always been a person that feels it is best to lead by example. While Molly may not understand that I am on the same path as her, I will at least know I am not requiring her to do something that I am unwilling to do myself. As she continues on her training schedule, I am also teaching myself new tricks in order to build healthier habits and achieve desired results. I signed Molly up for obedience class because I thought it would help her, little did I know, I would also be in training.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

